Strange Wednesdays: Changes, Kaizen, and Micro-Volunteering

I've experienced an abrupt change in the last week at work. I was moved to a new office, and although I am embracing the new office center I've been placed in, it definitely has a lot of challenges that are leaving me a little burned out. I've lost my relaxing lunch time patio at my previous location and have settled for being a Facebook zombie in an empty office for an hour a day.

Today I'm trying to change that. I've been seeing posts about Kaizen, a Japanese business model for continuous improvement in my Facebook feed, and it got me thinking. What small things could I be doing on my lunch break to foster my own self improvement? A little googling introduced me to stay at home and micro-volunteering. Basically, there are countless charities on the internet looking for people to do small tasks to support their cause. The time dedicated to these task could be as quick as sending an email to a few hours of weekly book keeping. I have my eye on several things, the most fascinating being a listing from the FBI, looking for volunteers to take a crack a solving a code linked to a 1999 murder, and The Doe Network, which encourages volunteers to look though missing persons cases to see if they can provide any new information. Check out the below links to see if there is a volunteer opportunity for you!
http://helpfromhome.org/

https://www.volunteermatch.org/search/virtual

Positivity Playlist

Lovebug- Jonas Brothers

Best Day of My Life- American Authors

Reaper- Sia 

I Lived- One Republic

Alone Together- Fall Out Boy

That Green Gentleman- Panic! At the Disco

Take a Picture- Filter

Have it All- Jeremy Kay

Rather Be (feat. Jess Glynne)

Bright- Echosmith

Budapest- George Ezra

2 thoughts on “Strange Wednesdays: Changes, Kaizen, and Micro-Volunteering

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

