Strange Places: Nanny’s Mountain

I’m always on the lookout for new historical sites to explore in my area, and when I came across a site that played a part in the Revolutionary War near Lake Wylie in South Carolina, I was very eager to visit. Discribed as a lightly trafficked trail with views of a former iron ore mine, Lake Wylie, Crowder Mountain, and the Charlotte Skyline, and picnic areas and a visitors center at the top, it seemed to be the perfect place to visit during Memorial Day weekend. Apparently, the mines were used in the revolutionary war to mine iron for cannon balls and other weapons. 

Once I arrived at Nanny Mountain, I soon realized that it wasn’t exactly what I expected. It was less then lightly trafficked, my husband and I were the only ones there! The mines were visible, but the other views were not. I wasn’t too disappointed, because I really came for the history, it turns out the other views are only visible during the fall, when leaves are off the trees. 

The mines are passed on the first section of trail, and things just got stranger as we hiked further up. When we reached the top and finished the trail, we found a small open chapel, and no visitors center or picnic tables. After I snapped a few pictures, my husband noticed a single doll arm on the railing. We already had a strange feeling about the place, and that did not help at all. I didn’t realize it at the time, but the doll arm is visible in ever picture I took. We retreated back to the trail, and headed down, and decided to explore a small side trail that was supposed to lead to picnic tables. In hindsight, I’m surprised we weren’t running for our car. 

This trail was not much more comforting, as we spotted thick spider webs, actual spiders, and a tree trunk that looks like the one The Headless Horseman springs out of in Sleepy Hollow. The trail ended with a single picnic table, which was set on a platform, and looked like it could be hiding the trap door leading to a dungeon.

It may not have been the trip we expected, but we certainly left with an interesting story to tell. 

4 thoughts on “Strange Places: Nanny’s Mountain

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

