Weird at Work Wednesday: Polka Dots, Green Tea, and an Ouiji Board

This week the sun has returned, and I can enjoy my lunch break outside on the patio adjacent to my office building. It is always refreshing to get away from the overzealous air conditioning, get outside for a little while, and relax with some music. None of my clients will interrupt my lunch when I’m outside, unlike when I try to eat in the kitchen. 

Of course, this means I have to dress for the temperature change since temps outside are up to the 80s already in Charlotte. I usually dress in layers, with light sweaters and tank tops, but my favorite solution is a black sweater with polka dot patterned mesh sleeves. It’s airy enough for the heat outside, but also gives me some protection from the arctic blast that occasionally blows across my desk. 

I also try to pack something in my lunch that I can look forward to in addition to the sunshine during my lunch break. This week, I’ve been mixing unsweetened green tea with cranberry pomegranate Alo to create a funky cold beverage. I just fill a bottle with 1/3 Alo, 2/3 water, and then drop in a tea bag. I then screw the top on over the string of the tea bag with the tag sticking out, and let it steep in the fridge overnight. The next morning I just pull the tea bag out, and pack it with a striped straw with my lunch.

Lastly, I always try to have mints in my purse to refresh me before I head back inside. Currently residing in my black bag are Mystifing Mints in a Ouija board case. The mints are actually shaped like little planchettes! It’s little details like that brighten my day.

Patio Playlist

Your Gonna Make Me Lonesome When You Go- Miley Cyrus

Bright- Echosmith

Budapest- George Ezra

The Wire- HAIM

The Way I Am- Ingrid Michaelson

Reaper- Sia

Ophelia- The Lumineers

When the Day Met the Night- Panic at the Disco

Fidelity- Regina Spektor

Leave Your Lover- Sam Smith

Love Song- Sara Bareilles

Thinking Out Loud- Ed Sheeran 

11 thoughts on “Weird at Work Wednesday: Polka Dots, Green Tea, and an Ouiji Board

Add yours

  1. We had 80s on Monday but its back to 40s so I’m envious of your weather. Great playlist and I’ll have to try your drink combination! Sounds good!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Heating was on today so it must have been cold outside in London πŸ˜‰ Apart from the rumble of diesels in Truck sim my play list today was Cassandra Wilson’s versions of Harvest Moon and Redemption Song:-)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

