Chicken Flautas and Game Night

 Since I’m an introvert, I also tend to be more of a homebody. Dispite this, I am still always looking for new things to break up my routine. This weekend, it was actually a mix of old and new that broke me out of my typical rut of dvr’d Dateline episodes. I spotted the original version of Chutes and Ladders at Target and decided I wanted to have a game night. 

I then decided I wanted to further change things up with a recipe I had pinned on Pinterest for chicken flautas but hadn’t yet attempted to make. This was complimented by the agave mead my sister brought, another thing I had wanted to give a try but hadn’t yet. 

Finally I pulled out some bags of candy I grabbed during my last trip to the grocery store. They were candy I had loved as a kid, and brought the whole night of old and new together. 

Ingredients

For Flautas

1 tbsp olive oil

1 medium onion chopped

3 cloves garlic minced

1 small can of chopped green chiles

2 chicken breasts I used 2 chicken breasts from a roasted chicken, cooked and shredded

1/2 cup sour cream

1 1/2 cups Tex Mex or Mexican cheese blend I used Kraft

10 6 inch flour tortillas

1/4 cup butter melted

Instructions

Preheat oven to 400 F degrees.

In a medium size skillet heat the olive oil. Add onion and garlic and cook until onion is softened, about 3 minutes. Add green chilies to skillet and cook for another 2 minutes. Add shredded chicken and sour cream, stir and cook for about 3 more minutes. Remove from heat and stir in cheese.

Warm the tortillas in the microwave for about 30 seconds so that they’re easier to roll. The chicken mixture should be enough to fill 10 tortillas.

Butter a 9×13 inch baking with some of the melted butter. Lay a tortilla flat and top with a couple tablespoons of the chicken mixture. Tightly roll up the tortilla and place it in the baking dish. Brush with melted butter. Repeat with remaining tortillas.

Bake for about 15 minutes or until tortillas turn golden brown.

Serve with guacamole, salsa, sour cream, and warm quesso cheese over flautas and enjoy.

One thought on “Chicken Flautas and Game Night

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

