A few years ago my husband and I helped our friend Devin move to Rochester, NY. Our plan was to drive Friday, spend the day Saturday with our friend, and return Sunday. Although I was interested in seeing a different part of New York other than New York City, I didn’t know anything about Rochester, and didn’t expect it to be a particularly memorable trip. 

On Saturday Devin suggested we visit Artisan Works, a self funded non-profit art space housed in a renovated 40,000 square foot factory. All of the artwork displayed is available to buy, rent, or stage offsite. The space  itself is crammed inside and out with all kinds of sculptures, installations, paintings, collages, and photography created by local artists. Live music is featured on the weekends, and the space has an amazing eclectic energy with all of the different works of art layered on top of each other. 

The pictures themselves aren’t the greatest, but I still wanted to share since it is one of the experiences that inspired me to look for the unusual everywhere I travel.