Bacon Marmalade

Warm bacon marmalade you can put on anything! Click for recipe and how to :)
Warm bacon goodness
I’ve committed myself to trying new recipes this year, which of course means turning to Pinterest. I found this bacon marmalade recipe originally posted on http://www.patiodaddiobbq.com. It was created to top brussel sprouts, but my thought process was more like, bacon–>breakfast–>bagels!!! I’ve never cooked a topper like this before, and was a little intimidated by the cook time, but decided to give it a shot.

I had to tweak the recipe slightly, mainly because I forgot to buy apple cider and had to use hard cider I had on hand instead. I also dropped the thyme in the original recipe, it’s typically just too strong of a flavor for my taste. It still came out amazing. I’ve put on bagels with cream cheese, goat cheese with crackers, and roast beef sandwiches so far.

Check out the recipe below, and let me know what you top yours with:)
Ingredients 

4lbs yellow onions

4 slices thick bacon

2 cups of hard cider

1/4 cup white wine vinegar

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 tbsp kosher salt

2 tsp black pepper

Method

Heat a large heavy sauce pan over medium high heat

Cook the bacon until crisp and set aside

Leave the fat in the pan and add the onions and salt. Reduce the heat to medium, cover, and cook until the onions soften (about 15 minutes)

Chop the bacon and add it along with the remaining ingredients. Cook uncovered until the liquid is almost completely gone. (Can take up to an hour)

Reduce heat to low and continue cooking for another 10 minutes, stirring frequently until the onions are a deep brown. You can add a little water if you think it’s starting to dry.

Remove from heat and let cool.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

